Twelve ministers in Modi’s cabinet have resigned

Twelve ministers in Modi’s cabinet have resigned

Twelve ministers in the Narendra Modi government resigned from their posts simultaneously, including the health, IT and education ministers.

According to AFP, the reason for the resignations of Indian ministers is the increase in corona cases and the cabinet reshuffle by Prime Minister Narendra Modi before the state elections.

A statement from the office of Indian President Ram Nath Kovind on Wednesday said that 12 ministers had resigned, but that the interior, defense, foreign and finance ministers had not been replaced.

According to Indian media, after the uncontrollable situation of Karuna and severe criticism on the economy, Prime Minister Narendra Modi had reshuffled his cabinet.

According to Indian media reports, 36 new ministers have been added to Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s cabinet, bringing the total number of ministers to 77, with almost half of the ministers in the cabinet being new.

Those who have resigned include Health Minister Harsh Vardhan, IT and Justice Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad, Environment Minister Prakash Jawdekar, Information and Broadcasting Minister and Heavy Industries Minister.

According to Indian media, Ravi Shankar Prasad was likely to be given a key post in the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party before the state elections.

Ravi Shankar Prasad, an experienced politician like Prakash Jawdekar, is one of the few ministers who has been part of former BJP Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee’s cabinet.

According to a statement issued by the Indian President’s Office, Health Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank has also resigned.


This website uses cookies.